Go Back   Sonos Forums > The Unsupported Area

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Apr 7th, 2007, 03:14 AM
palmlodge palmlodge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 266
Default 12V trigger ?

Quick one for anyone who's messed around with a ZP

Has anyone found any sort of trigger when a ZP is in "Play" mode ?

3,5, or 12v for example ? Anything anywhere on the mobo ??

Im thinking this is a possible way out of the hole that is created when using a ZP80 on a shared amp (ie auto selection)...

I can do all this with an XBOX with autodetection, and the same logic would apply.

tia
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Apr 12th, 2007, 04:51 PM
jaypro jaypro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 25
Default 12v option

http://www.cbav.com/Merchant2/mercha...ory_Code =RVS

this looks like the deal- soon to try one
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Apr 25th, 2007, 03:16 AM
Beejay's Avatar
Beejay Beejay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Epsom UK
Posts: 207
Default

Palmlodge

Why do you need this?

I have my AVR and Sonos sharing speakers in my Living Room, I use a Russsound AS-1/S speaker switch that uses 12v as the Switch, but it uses 12v from the AV Amp and 0v to switch to the Sonos (i.e. the AV Amp is not on). The solution is excellent.

Alternatively, there are a number of products (e.g. the non-slave version of the Russound switch, the vanilla AS-1), that will "listen" to the output of a device and switch when it detects noise and importantly also output a 12v.

BJ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Apr 25th, 2007, 09:37 AM
palmlodge palmlodge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 266
Default

All the other equipment in the lounge, incuding the ceiling speakers, are in place.

All devices are linked in to the house control system, and the AV Amp automatically turns on/off/input selection where required.

Except for Sonos - this requires manual intervention and not easy when the amp isnt even in the lounge.

The plasma and speakers are in the room, but all other av equipment are located in the central rack.

Hence, I need something from sonos, either with or without a voltage, that i can detect a "play" command from.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Apr 25th, 2007, 10:40 AM
Beejay's Avatar
Beejay Beejay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Epsom UK
Posts: 207
Default

Do you have a ZP80 or a ZP100?

If you have a ZP100 that and your AV Amp could share the speakers using a speaker switch (like the AS-1/S). This is how mine is set up, i.e. if I have the AV Amp on (Satelite TV, DVD, Xbox etc) the amp sends a 12v control voltage and gains control of the speakers. If the amp is off the switch defaults to the Sonos. It works a charm for me.

If the control voltage when the Sonos is absolutely necessary than you could get it if you are using a ZP100 by use a switch like the AS-1. You get the switch to "monitor" the output from the ZP (you can set it the threshold and duration to stop false trips and quite periods in classical music of gaps between songs triggering it), it will generate a control voltage when the source is playing something.

BJ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Apr 25th, 2007, 10:43 AM
palmlodge palmlodge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 266
Default

ZP80

Im aware of the speaker detection module, but loath to spend $100 on something the sonos could provide.

Also, the amp doesnt have 12v output triggers.

Im going to open it up, get the specs of the dsp, and see what signals it sends out
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Apr 25th, 2007, 12:26 PM
buzz buzz is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 14,788
Default

It is interesting that there is always a spending threshold that consumers won't cross.

Here we have a situation where $$$$ have been invested, but we need a final $100 to make the system great ... but that $100 is over the comfort threshold -- so we sit and fume and scheme and hack something.

It's just an observation, not a critique -- I've been there, done that, and will probably do it again.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Apr 26th, 2007, 03:25 PM
palmlodge palmlodge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 266
Default

buzz

cant disagree with you - ive spent a small fortune on my control systems (my 7 zone sonos is not the cheapest by far).

But i feel cheated by having to spend $100 on a "solution" - but its not guaranteed to work, all the time, every time.

I dont like layers of 'fudge' :-)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Apr 26th, 2007, 04:52 PM
buzz buzz is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 14,788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by palmlodge View Post
m[ ... ]
- but its not guaranteed to work, all the time, every time.

I dont like layers of 'fudge' :-)
I agree, and the real bummer is that we know up front that the auto sensing solution will be imperfect.

The solution with a ZP100 and a relay keyed from the receiver's switched outlet works very well. If you are into building something, wire your own relay -- the relays used by those switches are, er, not premium.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Jul 2nd, 2007, 04:47 AM
palmlodge palmlodge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 266
Default

Buzz

Receiver's switched outlet ? Could you elaborate ?

A volt-free switch is enough for me to take that into the house system...

Quote:
Originally Posted by buzz View Post
I agree, and the real bummer is that we know up front that the auto sensing solution will be imperfect.

The solution with a ZP100 and a relay keyed from the receiver's switched outlet works very well. If you are into building something, wire your own relay -- the relays used by those switches are, er, not premium.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:01 PM.