Go Back   Sonos Forums > General Discussion

Old Nov 23rd, 2012, 06:21 PM

Default number of speakers with connect amp

System so far is 2 connect amps and one bridge.

I have 2 speakers in 6 rooms for a total of 12. Proficient c640 8 ohm. Right now my 2 connect amps are wired to 2 rooms. 2 speakers on each amp. I am pretty new to home stereo. Is there any way that I can run more than 2 speakers per amp? I will eventually purchase more connect amps when the budget allows.
Old Nov 23rd, 2012, 08:26 PM

Default Try Niles SSVC-x

I use Niles Audio SSVC-4 speaker selector switch to connect 4 pair of speakers to a single Sonos Connect:Amp.

The switch allows you to turn on/off and control volume to each pair independently.

Niles also makes 2-pair and 6-pair switches.

You can find Niles at many online dealers.
Old Nov 23rd, 2012, 10:33 PM

I know that if this were my setup, I'd be reluctant to invest too much in an interim solution, particularly when I'd rather put that cost toward another Connect:Amp. I think you'll find that having multiple rooms on one Sonos zone does not provide the best Sonos control experience.

You can connect 2 sets of 8-ohm speakers (like your C640's) to one Connect:Amp with no additional equipment. That would get four of your rooms working, but of course, that leaves two rooms without audio. You'd also have no individual volume controls, so you'll have to weigh that into your decision-making.

You could add an inexpensive speaker selector to get all rooms working and gradually migrate the rooms to their own Connect:Amp as you can.

You know your budgetary priorities better than we do. A more permanent (and functional) solution would have volume controls (either wall-mounted or as part of the selector as jjancula has suggested), but you may choose to forego that in favor of getting the other Connect:Amps quicker.
Old Nov 24th, 2012, 04:59 AM