Go Back   Sonos Forums > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Apr 4th, 2012, 02:08 PM
ch2006 ch2006 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Thumbs down "network connection speed insufficient to maintain playback buffer"

Has anyone found a solution to this issue?

I am able to playback music if I only use 1 zone, once a second zone is added the music is cut off and the buffer message appears.

This has only happened since the latest update (umm did you bother to test your software Sonos?).

Any help would be appreciated.

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Apr 4th, 2012, 02:36 PM
ratty ratty is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 14,273
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ch2006 View Post
This has only happened since the latest update (umm did you bother to test your software Sonos?).
Sonos tests its releases extensively.

Problems after system updates are -- often as not -- caused by IP addresses being duplicated because the Sonos device reboots have exposed some latent issues in the network.

Reset your network. Power everything off and restart in order:

- modem (if separate)
- router
- wired Sonos devices
- wireless Sonos devices
- NAS, wired computers and other wired devices
- WiFi connected devices

Wait for each device to reboot fully before moving to the next.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Apr 5th, 2012, 09:57 AM
Jersey Bean Jersey Bean is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Default Having the same problem

I am having the same problem, also only since installing the 3.7 update.

As soon as you de-group the 2 players the music continues playing on the remaining player without problems. When you try to re-group, the music will play for about 5 seconds and then stop (buffer running out?)

Problem seems to be intermittent - had several days of no problems and now it is back.

I thought it might be interference on the wifi connection, as the symptom went away when I connected the two players with an ethernet cable.

Also, not sure I understand how the point re IP address conflicts is relevant to the above symptoms? I thought the Sonos players use their own separate wireless network and only the player which is attached to the broadband router by ethernet cable is assigned an IP address on the home network?

Any help gratefully received ...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Apr 5th, 2012, 10:22 AM
jgatie jgatie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jersey Bean View Post
I am having the same problem, also only since installing the 3.7 update.

As soon as you de-group the 2 players the music continues playing on the remaining player without problems. When you try to re-group, the music will play for about 5 seconds and then stop (buffer running out?)

Problem seems to be intermittent - had several days of no problems and now it is back.

I thought it might be interference on the wifi connection, as the symptom went away when I connected the two players with an ethernet cable.

Also, not sure I understand how the point re IP address conflicts is relevant to the above symptoms? I thought the Sonos players use their own separate wireless network and only the player which is attached to the broadband router by ethernet cable is assigned an IP address on the home network?

Any help gratefully received ...
Although Sonos uses it's own brand of wireless, it is still part of your network. It still gets its IP addresses from your router, and it still communicates via TCP/IP. The only thing that is different is they use their own proprietary wireless to do it. It's like speaking over the a landline vs. speaking over a cell phone - You are still speaking English, but the medium over which you communicate is different. You can even "conference call" between the two mediums. In other words, you can plug any ethernet capable device into the ethernet port on the back of a Sonos component and have full access to your entire network, including internet, even though they are on the "other" side of Sonosnet's WiFi.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Apr 5th, 2012, 11:15 AM
Shawks Shawks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 4
Default Don't blame the ip addresses this is an upgrade issue

I have exactly the same issue and it's related to the update - come on Sonos get yourselves sorted. It's supposed to be a superior brand!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Apr 5th, 2012, 02:04 PM
Buegie's Avatar
Buegie Buegie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Eastern USA
Posts: 677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawks View Post
I have exactly the same issue and it's related to the update - come on Sonos get yourselves sorted. It's supposed to be a superior brand!
Try not to confuse (weak) correlation with causality.

My neighbor got a flu shot last fall and was hit by a bus the very next day. That didn't stop me from getting mine.

If there was a definite problem with the upgrade, there would be many more folks with issues than we currently see here.

Call Sonos Support and they'll sort it out for you.

BTW - My 6-Zone system has been working flawlessly since the upgrade...

Best of Luck
__________________
4x Play:5 - 2x Play:1 - 1x Connect:Amp - 1x Connect - 4x Bridge (2 Deployed - 2 Spares)
QNAP TS-212 NAS w/12,000+ Apple Lossless Files - 2x HP Laptop w/Win7 Pro 64bit
1x AppleTV (2nd Gen) - 1x AirPort Express - 2x iPhone4S - 1x iPad (3rd Gen) - 1x Nexus 7 (2013)
1x CR200 - 2x LG Optimus Zone 2 - 2x iPhone3G (now obsolete)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 4 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Apr 6th, 2012, 01:51 AM
Spindlerm Spindlerm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Thumbs down Network connection speed insufficient to maintain playback

Hi there,
I also have this issue, if I play music from Rhapsody on a single zone all is good, as soon as I add in another zone I get the error mentioned. If I play Internet radio I can play it on one or more zones simultaneously.

So I wonder if this is anything to do with the Sonos update or is it somehow Rhapsody relegated - I never had this issue when using Napster.

I must say this is very frustrating and the multi zone features of Sonos are one of its key feature and is certainly why I purchased my 4 zone system. Sonos - please advise how I can help you troubleshoot this issue further!


Regards

Matthew
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Apr 6th, 2012, 03:23 AM
buzz buzz is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 14,568
Default

Spindlerm,

First post! Welcome to the forums.

Quote:
Sonos - please advise how I can help you troubleshoot this issue further!
Note that these are user forums, designed for user to user discussions. While SONOS staff occasionally post here, this is not an official end user support channel. I suggest that you directly contact SONOS support.

By the way, your symptoms usually are the result of a local networking issue. SONOS support can help you resolve this.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Apr 6th, 2012, 04:45 AM
Spindlerm Spindlerm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Thumbs up Problem resolved

Hi as advised,

Switched off all Sonos components and router, restarted router, then zone bridge, then rebooted each Sonos player in turn. All sorted now, thanks for the hint regarding local network conditions

Cheers

Matthew
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Apr 6th, 2012, 06:16 AM
John - Sonos John - Sonos is offline
Sonos Support Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 393
Default

Hello everyone,

Our technical support team is looking into these reports to determine what could cause the problems you've described in this thread. I've opened support incidents for you under your registered email addresses and sent an email out a few minutes ago. We're hoping to obtain some more information from your systems.

If you haven't received anything yet, please let me know by sending a PM.

Thanks,

John
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 4 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:27 AM.