Go Back   Sonos Forums > Getting Started with Sonos

Old Mar 19th, 2012, 03:26 AM
Syntheka

Question Zonos ZP90 - background noise

Hi there,

I am new to the Sonos family and purchased my ZP90 just last week.
Setting up the player was as easy as assumed and the application on my tablet also worked without any issues.

First some basic information on my system to help on troubleshooting:

Setup:
- Sonos ZP90, connected to the Router via Ethernet cable (distance appr. 10-15cm)
- dLAN connected to the ZP90 secondary Ethernet port
- DECT handset in range of 30cm
- ZP90 connected to Teufel Decoderstation 5 via Toslink
- Application on Asus Transformer Prime (Android 4.0 ICS)

Problem:
I am having a pretty massive background noise when listening to online streams. First thought that it might be the connection to my Hifi-system but the noise is only occuring when the stream is on. When paused, no noise is heard.

Could this be caused by the small distance between router (having activated WiFi) and the DECT handset?
Unfortunately, I was not yet able to check whether playing local files also causes this issue as the Sonos App does not recognize my local MP3-files on the tablet.

Thanks for your help
Old Mar 19th, 2012, 03:35 AM

Welcome to the forums.

At a guess the nearby digital electronics/wireless is affecting the analog stage in the Decoderstation, or the HiFi system downstream of it.

If you remove the Toslink connection and continue to play the Sonos stream does the interference stop or does it keep going?
Old Mar 19th, 2012, 03:39 AM
Syntheka

Dear ratty,
many thanks for the fast reply.
Currently, the Toslink is my only option to have the music playing as I do not yet own a Play:3. I have also tried a coaxial connection to my Hifi-system but no change.

Another assumption is that the router I have connected my ZP90 with is not properly grounded.