Go Back   Sonos Forums > Getting Started with Sonos

Old Mar 1st, 2012, 01:15 PM

Default Setup issues

Hi there
I am new to Sonos after ditching a squeezebox. I am experiencing quite severe dropouts. This is the configuration.
Win 7X64
Wired connection to Sonos Connect over Powerline
Wireless router to iPads, iPhones
It seems that the wifi causes interference. If I switch it off the interference disappears. However, I want to use the iPad over wifi to drive the Connect!
I have set the channels to 1 on the wifi and 11 on the Sonos.
The interference does not seem to affect radio or Songl (music subscription service) and even the more compressed tracks from my music library are unaffected. However, most of my library are Apple Lossless tracks and these are affected. I didn't have any interference on the squeezebox in the same configuration.
Does anyone have any thoughts?
TIA
Old Mar 1st, 2012, 03:33 PM

newmsie,

First post! Welcome to the forums.

I don't understand your configuration. Where is your local music stored? Am I clear that your CONNECT is attached to your router through an EoP (Ethernet over Powerline) adapter?

While some are quite successful using an EoP connection, EoP can be a lot of trouble. Also, I don't recommend that you use a WiFi connection between your local music and the router. Again, some are very successful with this setup, the others end up here or at the support desk -- with issues.
Old Mar 1st, 2012, 03:44 PM

Hi Buzz & thanks for the welcome

My music is stored on a Synology NAS on an ethernet connection. The Sonos Connect is also on the same network & also wired, but yes, it is an EoP connection here.

I am now wondering whether it could be a bandwidth issue on the powerline. My computer & NAS are in an upstairs office and the Sonos player is downstairs in my lounge. There is a concrete slab in-between hence the need for powerline.

Thanks for your prompt reply.
Old Mar 1st, 2012, 10:16 PM