Go Back   Sonos Forums > Getting Started with Sonos

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Feb 6th, 2012, 01:28 AM
moller05 moller05 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Default Cyrus xpa power amplifier

Hi all

I hope that you can help me. I'm not that into hifi so here goes.
I have a Sonos Connect (which I love) but I want to be independent of having to turn on my amp. I've gotten the possibility to purchase a Cyrus XPA amp which has auto on/off functionality but is that sufficient to play okay sound? Will he setup Sonos connect to Cyrus XPA amp to speakers do?

Thanks in advance.
Thomas
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Feb 6th, 2012, 10:14 AM
nodbal nodbal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Default

I am no expert, but i think you can use your Connect with a power amp, rather than an integrated or pre-amp. But there may be issues with the fixed output/volume.......somebody more qualified will be along with some better advice. I am keen to hear the answer because I am thinking of doing something similar with a power amp.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Feb 6th, 2012, 11:56 AM
ratty ratty is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 14,662
Default

A quick check reveals that the Cyrus XPA is designed for multiroom installations and to be hidden away, hence the auto-sensing on the input jacks. It should work fine with the Sonos ZP90/CONNECT. The choice of speakers will be a matter of personal taste and budget.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Feb 7th, 2012, 02:07 AM
moller05 moller05 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratty View Post
A quick check reveals that the Cyrus XPA is designed for multiroom installations and to be hidden away, hence the auto-sensing on the input jacks. It should work fine with the Sonos ZP90/CONNECT. The choice of speakers will be a matter of personal taste and budget.
That's what I'm thinking as well. But I hope that this setup is better then Connect amp/ZP120 connected directly to speakers because that didn't impress me.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Feb 7th, 2012, 02:18 AM
the_lhc the_lhc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,222
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moller05 View Post
That's what I'm thinking as well. But I hope that this setup is better then Connect amp/ZP120 connected directly to speakers because that didn't impress me.
It should be but it'll depend to a certain extent on what speakers you're using.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Feb 7th, 2012, 07:15 AM
moller05 moller05 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_lhc View Post
It should be but it'll depend to a certain extent on what speakers you're using.
Some old Dali speakers. Well. Time will tell if I purchase it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:29 AM.