Go Back   Sonos Forums > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jan 16th, 2012, 08:08 AM
AndyBass AndyBass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 15
Exclamation No music share found: Netgear ReadyNAS, SONOS v3.6

Hi,

I have come into a problem after updating to 3.6. I can no longer connect to my Netgear readNAS Ultra2 drive for my music library. It doen't appear in a scan to find new shares. Most of the time I use the iPhone4 controller app.

I know the NAS is working fine as I can read/write to it from my PC. I have rebooted the modemrouter, NAS then power cycled the zoneplayers. Music on my PC is accessible via SONOS, but not the NAS for some reason. I have go the latest firmware for the NAS - RAIDar-4.3.4.

Any ideas, anyone please?!! SONOS is not much good without music (even though the ZPs look mighty fine).

Many thanks!

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Jan 16th, 2012, 11:32 AM
ratty ratty is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 13,717
Default

Upgrades can expose latent IP addressing issues. I'd recommend that you don't just power-cycle devices piecemeal but instead give your network a complete reboot from the ground up.

Power everything off and restart in order:

- modem (if separate)
- router
- wired Sonos devices
- wireless Sonos devices
- NAS, wired computers and other wired devices
- WiFi connected devices

Wait for each device to reboot fully before moving to the next.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Jan 17th, 2012, 05:21 AM
AndyBass AndyBass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks ratty for your suggestion, though it didn't help.

Would the fact that I have got a reserved IP address for the NAS make any difference? This setup worked fine up until recently.

Thanks

AndyBass
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Jan 17th, 2012, 06:19 AM
ratty ratty is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 13,717
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyBass View Post
Would the fact that I have got a reserved IP address for the NAS make any difference? This setup worked fine up until recently.
Well it might. How did you set the static IP? If you set an IP in the NAS itself and it happened to fall inside the address pool used by the DHCP server then that would be asking for trouble.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Jan 17th, 2012, 07:04 AM
AndyBass AndyBass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 15
Default

Hi ratty,

I set the reserved IP address in my modem router, and not in the NAS itself. I guess the next thing to try is to unreserve its IP address. Perhaps 3.6 doesnt like reserved IPs...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Jan 17th, 2012, 07:09 AM
ratty ratty is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 13,717
Default

Sonos doesn't care where the IP comes from, so long as it isn't duplicated elsewhere in the network.

Have you tried simply typing in the \\hostname\sharename into Sonos library setup? Sometimes the network scan doesn't find shares.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Jan 17th, 2012, 08:08 AM
AndyBass AndyBass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 15
Default

Hi ratty, thanks again for your continued help.

Yes, I've typed the path, but it gives me the message "computer xxx cannot be found"

What I will try tomorrow is seeing if a laptop finds and connects to the NAS via wifi. I checked - there's no duplicate IPs.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Jan 17th, 2012, 08:12 AM
the_lhc the_lhc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,947
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyBass View Post
Hi ratty, thanks again for your continued help.

Yes, I've typed the path, but it gives me the message "computer xxx cannot be found
What, even if you use the IP address instead of the computer name?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Jan 17th, 2012, 08:14 AM
the_lhc the_lhc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,947
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyBass View Post
What I will try tomorrow is seeing if a laptop finds and connects to the NAS via wifi
What will that tell you? Sonos isn't connecting via your wi-fi.

Can you ping the NAS from the computer you're on now (command prompt - ping <IP address>)?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Jan 18th, 2012, 06:15 AM
AndyBass AndyBass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 15
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_lhc View Post
What will that tell you? Sonos isn't connecting via your wi-fi.

Can you ping the NAS from the computer you're on now (command prompt - ping <IP address>)?
Yes, I know Sonos doesn't use my wi-fi...I thought, wrongly, that at least using a laptop or other device to connect to the NAS would show that the NAS is accessible. When in fact, my PC sees the NAS over the network. I just got a little confused, since the NAS is right by the PC...but it's still a network connection despite its proximity.

Can't remember how to ping, sorry (don't laugh!).

Anyway - I have it solved -see next post.
Thanks,
Andy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3.6, library, netgear, readynas, share

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:15 PM.