Go Back   Sonos Forums > Internet Radio

Old Jan 25th, 2006, 04:57 AM
Digital Expert

Default Howto listen to digital radio (dvb) on SONOS

I am new to SONOS and one thing I miss is to listen to digital broadcast radio like dvb-s.

The solution to connect a radio receiver to the audio-input is not acceptable to me as I don't want to convert the digital radio signal to analog and back to digital on the SONOS. Also I want to switch channels and control volume via the SONOS remote and not with an additional remote.

Therefore I programmed a Linux shell script that simulates an internet radio to the SONOS. The script receives an url like "http://<nas-server>/cgi-bin/dvbradio.m3u?DBOX:HRINFO" from the SONOS and then switches the satellite receiver channel, retrieves the stream, re-encodes it, feeds stream and returns a m3u playlist to the SONOS, so it connects to my intranet radio. For each radio channel I have one entry in the Favorites list with another argument like HRINFO, SRJAZZ etc.

The "DBOX" option does lookup the satellite channel parameters from a table in the script. This only works for dreamboxes.

The "V4L" option does exactly the same but does not need a dreambox. It uses a dvb card using the Linux V4L2 interface. I am using an inexpensive Twinhead VP-1022A dvb-s card on Fedora Core 4 for that. The VLC you are using must have been compiled with dvb-enabled.