Go Back   Sonos Forums > Getting Started with Sonos

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Nov 13th, 2011, 04:20 AM
IanPaulC IanPaulC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
Default Connecting "CONNECT:AMP" - weak signal?

I am sure that there is a very straightforward solution to this but here is my problem.

I have just bought my first Sonos hardware - a bridge and the connect:amp.

I have downloaded the software to my PC and have connected the bridge to my network.

the connect:amp is to be connected to ceiling speakers in my master bedroom.

unfortunately, I can't connect the amp when it is in the master bedroom.... though I can connect it when it is sat right next to the bridge.

so this suggests (to me) that the signal in the master bedroom is not strong enough.

Can anyone suggest what I can do? Can I boost the signal somehow?!?

thanks to anyone who is able to help me on this!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Nov 13th, 2011, 05:39 AM
jgatie jgatie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,465
Default

The signal can be boosted by placing another Bridge halfway between the current bridge and the Connect:Amp. The second Bridge will act as a wireless extender.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Nov 13th, 2011, 06:13 AM
buzz buzz is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 14,250
Default

IanPaulC,

First post! Welcome to the forums.

Indeed, your symptoms are consistent with low signal strength.

Sometimes, moving a unit a few inches will make a substantial difference in reception conditions.

"Boosting" the signal directly is not practical, however, one can add another BRIDGE about half way between the original BRIDGE and the CONNECT:AMPLIFIER. The additional BRIDGE will relay the transmissions. The additional BRIDGE can be wired or wireless. If practical, you could extend the wire and relocate the original BRIDGE.

I don't know your geek coefficient, but this thread gives a method to put some numbers on your situation.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Nov 13th, 2011, 10:41 AM
NoBoB NoBoB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,644
Default

You should also verify that your home WiFi is not conflicting with Sonos. Set your router's WiFi and Sonos to different channels, choosing from 1, 6, or 11, and make sure the router is not using 'wide' or 40MHz channels (sometimes called up to 270Mbps or similar).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:13 PM.