Go Back   Sonos Forums > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Aug 27th, 2011, 11:19 PM
m_sandstrom m_sandstrom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 61
Default Spotify not working(?)

Found out this morning that I am no longer able to play songs from Spotify (from Sweden).
It worked yesterday evening but this morning I can access Spotify from Sonos Controller, see playlists etc, but when trying to add or play a song I get the message "Could not add song(s) to queue".
I have checked from a computer and iPhone and I am able to play songs there.
Sonos - Spotify gateway issues?

/Mattias
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Aug 27th, 2011, 11:25 PM
m_sandstrom m_sandstrom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 61
Default

Update: seems to be working now...(?)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Aug 28th, 2011, 04:13 AM
jishi jishi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,040
Default

I have been having the same trouble with my system. It has been more frequent since I tarted using two S5 in a group, but I don't think it's related.

However, it was broken yesterday, and a restart fixed my problem.

Today, same problem, so I ungrouped my two S5 and noticed that I could play spotify from one of them, but not the other.

There have been talk about the Sonos player can end up with some sort of "stale cache" which obviously makes the system unable to actually play the tracks (perhaps the playlist or what not, maybe a manual search for a track and adding that could work?)

I do hope that they will release a fix for it soon, because having to reboot the system every few days is really annoying.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Aug 28th, 2011, 04:23 AM
ratty ratty is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 13,717
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jishi View Post
There have been talk about the Sonos player can end up with some sort of "stale cache" which obviously makes the system unable to actually play the tracks ...
I'll admit to this speculation regarding the DNS cache. Without digging in the diagnostics for each player it's hard to put flesh on this theory, but I suffered from some players being unable to reach Spotify while others still could. A reboot cleared the problem.

Since this occurred after a major Spotify server outage I suspected that server IP addresses had changed and that some players hadn't caught up.

I wouldn't expect this to be a recurring issue.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Aug 28th, 2011, 05:36 AM
jishi jishi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,040
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratty View Post
I wouldn't expect this to be a recurring issue.
Okay, but I beg to differ then. Since the big outage this has happen to me at least 4 times, and yesterday I power cycled both units, and today I once again had trouble on one of the players.

I'll keep track and see if it is always the same player that stops working. Maybe there is some problem with it, or some software glitch.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Aug 28th, 2011, 05:56 AM
PVH123 PVH123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 65
Default

Today, I have the same problem.

Unable to play Spotify on my associated ZP (1 of 2), plays on other ZP and will play as a linked pair after selecting through other ZP, but not on it's own.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Aug 28th, 2011, 06:32 AM
ratty ratty is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 13,717
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PVH123 View Post
Today, I have the same problem.

Unable to play Spotify on my associated ZP (1 of 2), plays on other ZP and will play as a linked pair after selecting through other ZP, but not on it's own.
Unless you're comfortable with digging through the diagnostics I suggest you submit them to Sonos and open a problem ticket quoting the diagnostic reference. Be sure to point out which ZP worked and which didn't.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Aug 28th, 2011, 11:18 AM
patrikfr patrikfr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Default

I'm seeing the exact same thing. Spotify works fine on one zone (ZP-90), but not on the other (S5) in solo.

If I start playing on the zone that works I can bring the other zone in and play on both, but as soon as I drop the first zone it stops working again on the S5.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Aug 28th, 2011, 11:20 AM
ratty ratty is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 13,717
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by patrikfr View Post
I'm seeing the exact same thing. Spotify works fine on one zone (ZP-90), but not on the other (S5) in solo.

If I start playing on the zone that works I can bring the other zone in and play on both, but as soon as I drop the first zone it stops working again on the S5.
Welcome to the forums.

Reboot the S5 and see if that resolves things.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Aug 28th, 2011, 11:55 AM
patrikfr patrikfr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratty View Post
Welcome to the forums.
Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratty View Post
Reboot the S5 and see if that resolves things.
That seems to have fixed the issue.

Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:49 PM.