Go Back   Sonos Forums > Internet Radio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Aug 18th, 2011, 05:27 AM
bmorebeerman bmorebeerman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Default CBS Radio, Radio.com

I usually listen to a sports radio station in Philly, but today I get a Beep and it says this Radio station is not available.

Here is the link to the station, but when I try to put it in the URL bar, it doesnt play.

It is a CBS Radio station and it appears they use Radio.com.

Any Suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Aug 18th, 2011, 07:28 AM
BigN BigN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hamilton, Scotland
Posts: 581
Thumbs down Another CBS Station -- WHOM 94.9

When in the States I often listen to the continuous light rock of WHOM 94.9, which transmits from the top of 6218' Mt Washington in NH.

I also used to be able to listen to it here in the UK via my computer. This station is also a CBS affiliate, and now I just get "Cannot play media. Sorry, this content is not available in your area due to regulatory restrictions." I seem to remember looking into this with no way round, except perhaps to set up some kind of proxy server based in the U.S.

Guess you are hitting the same limitation!
__________________
Zone 1:- ZP120 Root Bridge-->Mission M30s+SUB; CR200, PC Desktop Controller
Zone 2:- ZP90-->Teac UD-H01-->Yamaha RX-A1010-->Castle Acoustics; WD100; CR200, iPad3
Zone 3:- P:5W; CR200: Zone 4:- ZP120-->Mission M30s+SUB; CR200: Zone 5:- 2xP:1s paired; CR200
Zone 6:- ZP90-->Altec ACS340; WD100; CR100: Zone 7:- ZP120-->Linn Sweetspots: Zone 8:- P:5B
Other:- 2xBR100: iPod touch: 2xiPhone ICR: 2xiPads
NAS:- CD Rips QNAP TS-209 Pro II 1.5TB RAID 1: HQ Music Library QNAP TS-209 II 1.0TB RAID 1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Aug 18th, 2011, 07:34 AM
tgseaver tgseaver is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 15
Default

I am getting the same thing in NYC, CBS88NY. Help!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Aug 18th, 2011, 07:47 AM
buzz buzz is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 14,236
Default

Maybe CBS has pulled a Clear Channel and obscured its stations for devices such as SONOS.

Earlier this morning I noticed that a CBS station that I regularly listen to is no longer in the station listings. Since I have a URL for that feed, I was able to listen to the station from my Favorites.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Aug 18th, 2011, 08:14 AM
ebcinpa ebcinpa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Default cbs radio

My understanding is that CBS radio stations have switched to a flash streaming format and thus no longer available through the Sonos radio tuner. Going to affect a lot of people.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Aug 18th, 2011, 08:17 AM
BigN BigN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hamilton, Scotland
Posts: 581
Default

I suspect you may be right buzz. I seem to recall that previously when I Searched on Sonos for 'WHOM', it showed up as an entry, but just would not let me play it. Just tried it again, and now only three entries show with 'WHOM' as the Search key, and none is actually WHOM! Although at least JOY 94.9 is on the same FM frequency as WHOM 94.9. Not much help then!
__________________
Zone 1:- ZP120 Root Bridge-->Mission M30s+SUB; CR200, PC Desktop Controller
Zone 2:- ZP90-->Teac UD-H01-->Yamaha RX-A1010-->Castle Acoustics; WD100; CR200, iPad3
Zone 3:- P:5W; CR200: Zone 4:- ZP120-->Mission M30s+SUB; CR200: Zone 5:- 2xP:1s paired; CR200
Zone 6:- ZP90-->Altec ACS340; WD100; CR100: Zone 7:- ZP120-->Linn Sweetspots: Zone 8:- P:5B
Other:- 2xBR100: iPod touch: 2xiPhone ICR: 2xiPads
NAS:- CD Rips QNAP TS-209 Pro II 1.5TB RAID 1: HQ Music Library QNAP TS-209 II 1.0TB RAID 1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Aug 18th, 2011, 08:27 AM
BigN BigN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hamilton, Scotland
Posts: 581
Default

OMG ebcinpa! I do hope this does not herald a change in streaming formats that Sonos may not cope with! My original Imerge/Onkyo based setup had to be ditched partly as a result of streaming protocols changing to the extent that my Imerge NP200/Onkyo NC500 could no longer work with internet radio.

I know technology does evolve, and that's a good thing, but I do hope that existing users are not disadvantaged over time!
__________________
Zone 1:- ZP120 Root Bridge-->Mission M30s+SUB; CR200, PC Desktop Controller
Zone 2:- ZP90-->Teac UD-H01-->Yamaha RX-A1010-->Castle Acoustics; WD100; CR200, iPad3
Zone 3:- P:5W; CR200: Zone 4:- ZP120-->Mission M30s+SUB; CR200: Zone 5:- 2xP:1s paired; CR200
Zone 6:- ZP90-->Altec ACS340; WD100; CR100: Zone 7:- ZP120-->Linn Sweetspots: Zone 8:- P:5B
Other:- 2xBR100: iPod touch: 2xiPhone ICR: 2xiPads
NAS:- CD Rips QNAP TS-209 Pro II 1.5TB RAID 1: HQ Music Library QNAP TS-209 II 1.0TB RAID 1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Aug 18th, 2011, 09:19 AM
ebcinpa ebcinpa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Default cbs radio

I have tried both Denon and Onkyo/Integra products today and they continue to work just fine bringing in CBS radio stations with their Vtuner.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Aug 18th, 2011, 09:37 AM
jgatie jgatie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,452
Default

It seems CBS has moved to Flash only streaming. iTunes and other vendors like Denon may have solutions or Flash interpreters, but it looks like other non-browser units are out in the cold:

http://www.cbsradio.com/contact/help.html

Maybe eventually we'll get a Clear Channel type iHeart Radio interface. Not that it effects me, I gave up terrestrial radio a long time ago. Dedicated satellite stations with little to no commercials is worth the monthly fee.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Aug 18th, 2011, 09:57 AM
bmorebeerman bmorebeerman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Not really understanding all the interface stuff, is this something that Sonos can adjust/upgrade to stream or has that ship sailed?

I hate to start losing station when I have invested this much into the system.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:41 PM.