Go Back   Sonos Forums > Getting Started with Sonos

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Mar 26th, 2011, 01:40 PM
notl notl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Default Unable to connect to iTunes library

I bought my Sonos on Thursday, and was able to set it up with my iTunes library then. But this morning, it couldn't play any songs on my library. I thought that perhaps I needed to re-index, so I did, and it still didn't work. Then I thought perhaps I needed to reconnect it with the library, so I deleted that library, and tried to re-add it. But now I try to add either the iTunes library directly, or I try to navigate directly to the iTunes media folder, and it still says that it "...can't find the computer XXXX..." But the computer that it's looking for is the one that I'm actually one. Help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Mar 27th, 2011, 12:47 AM
ratty ratty is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 14,262
Default

Welcome to the forums.

If a station on the network has mysteriously become inaccessible, your router could have power-cycled resulting in IP address confusion.

As a first step restart your entire network. Power everything off and restart in order:

- modem (if separate)
- router
- wired Sonos devices
- wireless Sonos devices
- NAS, wired computers and other wired devices
- WiFi connected devices

Wait for each device to reboot fully before moving to the next.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Apr 29th, 2012, 11:43 AM
tls723 tls723 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Default Same problem, Sonos can't find my computer

Hi, I'd love to hear a working response to this question. I upgraded to the new sonos controller and now can't access my itunes library--"sonos cannot find IMAC". I have tried checking and unchecking file sharing, I have gone through the power cycle. PLEASE HELP!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Apr 30th, 2012, 11:49 AM
buzz buzz is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 14,561
Default

tls723,

Have you done the network reset described above?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 3rd, 2012, 06:28 PM
mkormann mkormann is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Default Same Problem, restart doesn't help

Seems I'm experiencing the same thing. The restart sequence doesn't fix the problem. I can play music via Pandora and Spotify, but not my entire iTunes library. It appears I can only play songs I've ripped in, not purchased via the iTunes site. Is this a DRM issue, perhaps? I get a similar error message: UNABLE TO PLAY 'track x' UNABLE TO CONNECT TO '//folder location'.

The "unplayable" tracks include those very recently purchased as well as those downloaded via iTunes a couple of years ago. Help?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:31 AM.