Go Back   Sonos Forums > Digital Music

Old Mar 15th, 2011, 10:13 PM

Default Rhapsody vs. Napster (sound quality)

I am new to Sonos (love the system) but not new to audio. 2 weeks ago I purchased a ZP120 and a pair of B&W 685 speakers. Last week I added a Velodyne Optimum 10 sub. I am also a true believer in hi-quality audio cables and am running Audioquest bi-wired to the B&W and a Sub-1 on the Velodyne. I must say I am shocked how good the system sounds – more on that later in a different post.

With this background I am on my free month trial with both Napster and Rhapsody. I have been comparing the two services using the same song on the same album and playing them back to back.

The sound quality of Rhapsody seems to me much better. It sounds closer to a CD where you can hear more detail in the music as well as a more spacious image With Napster it sounds more closed in, compressed, etc…Anyone else hear any differences?

Last edited by Clavace; Mar 16th, 2011 at 06:20 AM.
Old Mar 16th, 2011, 04:52 AM

Rhapsody is at 192 kbs, Napster is 128 kbs.
Old Mar 16th, 2011, 07:21 AM

Default From FAQ Answer ID 1050

I just did some checking in FAQ (answer ID 1050) and found that jgatie is correct about the streaming rates- thank you!

Napster tracks are in 128 Kbps WMA format.
Rhapsody tracks are 192 Kbps MP3s.

I believe that just as important (or more) is the fact that Napster is using WMA format which is nowhere near as detailed as MP3 and cuts off high frequencies and I was able to hear the difference without knowing any of this.

I then called customer service and was told to also try rdio which is streaming up to 320 kbps MP3 and is currently their highest quality streaming service available in the US.
Old Mar 16th, 2011, 07:41 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clavace