Go Back   Sonos Forums > Getting Started with Sonos

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jan 9th, 2011, 10:50 AM
NYC Guy NYC Guy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 42
Default Media Monkey files not appearing in the Sonos music library.

I am a newbie and did a search so please excuse me if there is an obvious answer. I installed Media Monkey yesterday and the FLAC files for the albums & artists I ripped are not appearing in my Sonos Music Library (either on the remote or my desktop). Do the Media Monkey files have to be added to "My Music" folder first? What am I doing wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Jan 9th, 2011, 11:55 AM
NoBoB NoBoB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,724
Default

Your ripped files have to be stored in the share where the rest of your library is kept (or you need to add another share to reflect that location).

Not being a Media Monkey user, I have no idea how it tags FLAC files. Sonos uses the tags to index the files, so if the new rips are not tagged (or are improperly tagged) they won't show up in the Sonos music library.

Lastly, it may be obvious, but newly ripped files will not appear in the Sonos library until it is re-indexed. You can set Sonos to automatically re-index at a specified schedule, but new rips will be unavailable until that re-index completes. You can force a re-index at any time from any Controller.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Jan 10th, 2011, 05:54 AM
B Fraser B Fraser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Biffins Bridge
Posts: 70
Default

If it's a storage problem i.e. the update just "hangs" then check out my two threads describing the issues I had until I used a proper NAS drive and swapped out my router.

Regarding tagging, MediaMonkey is pretty good and seems to be one of the favoured options in the user community.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Jan 10th, 2011, 07:00 AM
NYC Guy NYC Guy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 42
Default

OK, I have corrected the issue by finally figuring out how to add Media Monkey as an additional source to the Sonos system by going to the "Music Library Setup" on my CR200 remote and adding a new shared folder and have continued to rip my CD's to Media Monkey.

However those new albums that appear in Media Monkey do not appear in the "My Music" folder in the "My Documents" folder of my "C Drive". Are they supposed to be cross referenced there when I rip CD's to Media Monkey?

Also I backup the "My Music" folder on a WD Essentials drive (not an NAS drive). Is there a way to also backup Media Monkey files on an external drive if in fact they aren't also stored in the "My Music" folder which I assumed would happen?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Jan 10th, 2011, 07:42 AM
buzz buzz is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 14,563
Default

NYC Guy,

Check your Media Monkey configuration. Media Monkey will store the ripped files wherever you ask. Evidently, you have Media Monkey configured to store the files in a second share.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Jan 10th, 2011, 08:32 AM
NYC Guy NYC Guy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buzz View Post
NYC Guy,

Check your Media Monkey configuration. Media Monkey will store the ripped files wherever you ask. Evidently, you have Media Monkey configured to store the files in a second share.
Wow, I just discovered the backup files in my WD Essentials drive from Media Monkey stored in a "My Pictures" folder. Where do you go in Media Monkey to chose where to store the files so they are added to the "My Music" folder in the "My Documents" of my C drive?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Jan 10th, 2011, 09:47 AM
B Fraser B Fraser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Biffins Bridge
Posts: 70
Default

IIRC, where the files are stored is one of the options in the Media Monkey menu where you specify the parameters for ripped CDs. Seek and ye shall find !

I had problems accessing a drive that was connected to a router via USB. SONOS appears to have issues with this and to be fair, it was a bit of a lash-up that may or may not work. A NAS drive connected via ethernet to the router solved all the issues.

Last edited by B Fraser; Jan 10th, 2011 at 09:48 AM. Reason: clarity
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Jan 10th, 2011, 03:57 PM
NYC Guy NYC Guy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B Fraser View Post
IIRC, where the files are stored is one of the options in the Media Monkey menu where you specify the parameters for ripped CDs. Seek and ye shall find !
OK, I am going nuts trying to figure this out. I have looked allover the MM interface and cannot locate how to do this. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Jan 10th, 2011, 03:58 PM
BarryM BarryM is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 867
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NYC Guy View Post
Wow, I just discovered the backup files in my WD Essentials drive from Media Monkey stored in a "My Pictures" folder. Where do you go in Media Monkey to chose where to store the files so they are added to the "My Music" folder in the "My Documents" of my C drive?
Although I use MediaMonkey, I don't use it to rip cds. I had a quick look at how it is done there.

I put a cd into the computer, and took option Tools|RipAudioCD.

The resulting screen had a field at the top for the destination. Alongside is a "Configure" button taking me to a wizard for setting the directory, sub-directory rules, and track file name rules. This wizard also displays a handy sample display of how the 1st track on the cd would be handled with respect to directory tree path names and track name.

This isn't working for you?

I am running version 3.2.3.1303 of MediaMonkey.
__________________
A how-to document showing the use of MediaMonkey for improved desktop browsing of your local Sonos library, including Sonos playcounts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 4 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Jan 10th, 2011, 04:24 PM
NYC Guy NYC Guy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryM View Post
Although I use MediaMonkey, I don't use it to rip cds. I had a quick look at how it is done there.

I put a cd into the computer, and took option Tools|RipAudioCD.

The resulting screen had a field at the top for the destination. Alongside is a "Configure" button taking me to a wizard for setting the directory, sub-directory rules, and track file name rules. This wizard also displays a handy sample display of how the 1st track on the cd would be handled with respect to directory tree path names and track name.

This isn't working for you?

I am running version 3.2.3.1303 of MediaMonkey.
Thanks for your help and I finally figured out what was happening as I have found two separate folders named "My Music" in my computer. MM was storing the ripped CD's in my C drive in a folder named "My Music". Before I installed MM the other day I had a "My Music" folder in "My Documents" and assumed that this was where MM would put them. I have changed the path as per your instructions.

Do you think that putting all of the CD's in my old "My Music" folder in "My Documents" as opposed to a separate "My Music" folder in the C drive makes any difference?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:41 AM.