Go Back   Sonos Forums > Digital Music

Old Nov 29th, 2010, 11:19 AM

Question What is the Best File Structure for the NAS

I am new to setting up a NAS for my Ripped CDs. I am using the Apple Lossless CODEC and specify the destination folder on my network drive but the Apple software places another two folders called "music" and "add to itunes" inside the destination I specify. It then places the ripped CDs into the extra "Music" folder it created. Here are my questions:

1. Is there any reason to keep the Apple created file structure after I rip the CDs?

2. I am planning to have several folders like "Christmas", "My Music", "Wifes Music", etc. to simplify finding CD's. What are suggestions from experienced NAS users for an optimum file structure.
Old Nov 29th, 2010, 06:55 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzinCaz View Post
I am planning to have several folders like "Christmas", "My Music", "Wifes Music", etc. to simplify finding CD's. What are suggestions from experienced NAS users for an optimum file structure.
The Sonos indexing process ignores your file structure, so from the perspective of the Album, Artist, Genre, Composer, and Contributing Artist indexes, your file structure schema is irrelevant.

The only impact is when selecting what to play via the Folders index. Your suggestion of My Music and Wife's Music etc will allow you filter your music choice by these categories. Within each you would then want a structure that models how you prefer to see your music; i.e. Genre folders, or Artist Folders, or just a folder for each album. You get choose only one, unless you hold duplicate copies of the music, and then re-tag the extra copies, so that Sonos sees them as being different. If you have a large collection you will miss the alphabetic jump-to facility on the right hand side of the controller screen, as this hasn't been implemented for the Folder index.