Go Back   Sonos Forums > Internet Radio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old Jun 16th, 2010, 10:21 AM
MalcolmS MalcolmS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 34
Default

yes and yes

and I was using the same route to successfully listen to Pandora on my Sonos until a few days ago...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old Jun 17th, 2010, 12:42 PM
MalcolmS MalcolmS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 34
Default

can anyone help? I'm really missing my Pandora.

Someone suggested factory resetting all my units and re-registering - would that at least allow me to get my Pandora account back under Music Services??
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old Jun 17th, 2010, 02:17 PM
Avee's Avatar
Avee Avee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5,196
Default

I have the feeling there is something wrong with your VPN, Sonos seems to be functioning as designed. In case you are outside the USA, your symptoms might mean Sonos is not using the VPN to connect to Pandora but goes directly through the internet.

I don't know how your service works exactly, in case there is a company on the other end, you might try to find out whether they changed something to their IP Addresses or whether Pandora started blocking them.
__________________
All opinions expressed here are my personal views.
I don't work for Sonos, I'm just another satisfied customer.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old Jun 17th, 2010, 02:31 PM
MalcolmS MalcolmS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 34
Default

Thanks Avee, that's helpful... I'll pursue that once I can get Pandora listed as one of my music services again.

Anyone any ideas how I can get it to appear in my list of services again after NoBoB helpfully suggested I remove it.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old Jun 20th, 2010, 01:03 PM
MalcolmS MalcolmS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 34
Default

can anyone confirm if I factory reset all of my Sonos units and controllers I will be able to re-register them and get back Pandora in Music Services or is that just a myth??
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old Aug 22nd, 2010, 10:22 AM
navira navira is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Default Pandora on Sonos

Malcolm:

Have you had any luck running Pandora on Sonos. I am running it on my PC and IPAD and there is no problem but getting the same problem on Sonons. I am using VPN program but dont know how to use it for Sonos? Please let me know if you have had success?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old Aug 22nd, 2010, 11:12 AM
MalcolmS MalcolmS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 34
Default

I managed to get it back as an Music Services option on all my Sonos controllers (my CR100s; the PC Desktop Controller and the Sonos app on my iPod Touch).

So I can go to Music, select Pandora Radio as an option and it gives me all my Pandora radio stations - which means it's logging into my Pandora account okay I guess - but then when I select any station it never plays. I get the error message "Unable to play xxxxxxxx Radio - the connection to Pandora was lost".

I too am using a VPN and can report that this did work some months back... and I can still listen to Pandora on my PC via Pandora.com in a browser or via their own app.

I'm was using this http://tinyurl.com/34httxz to config the VPN and I suspect what's happened is that Pandora has started using different IP addresses.

Last edited by MalcolmS; Aug 22nd, 2010 at 11:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old Aug 22nd, 2010, 12:47 PM
navira navira is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Default Pandora

I guess in a PC or IPAd you can use VPN. The problem is that with Sonos you have to configue the VPN directly in the router which i am sure is not that easy.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old Aug 22nd, 2010, 12:58 PM
MalcolmS MalcolmS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 34
Default

which is what I did Navira and it was working great until a few months back... I was lucky in that I have the same router as the one in the link so it was easy to setup.

At some I did have a tool that showed you what IP addresses Sonos was using and was able to add those when they changed before but I can't find that anymore. :-(
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old Aug 25th, 2010, 01:46 PM
MalcolmS MalcolmS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 34
Default

I finally got Pandora working tonight again! :-)

I deleted my old VPN setup, rebooted my router and reset it up using the instructions here http://tinyurl.com/34httxz
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:26 PM.