Go Back   Sonos Forums > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 30th, 2010, 08:37 AM
xqzme xqzme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
Default New Router-Sonos Won't Connect

I purchased a Belkin PLAY N+N300 wireless router to replace my dead D-link one. I connected Sonos via the same ethernet cable, but it won't connect. The white light flashes, then stays a dim white for a few seconds and then goes off completely. I've tried turning off the router firewall, but no luck. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 30th, 2010, 08:56 AM
ratty ratty is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 14,103
Default

Hi, and welcome.

What you describe is the normal light sequence for a ZP which has been configured with its LED off.

Since replacing the router, you would have needed to do a full network reset, powering EVERYTHING off and restarting in order:
- router
- wired Sonos devices
- wireless Sonos devices
- anything else
Wait for each to complete its restart before moving to the next.

If you are using a Sonos wireless controller and/or have ZonePlayers linked wirelessly, you will need to check that the router's Wifi and Sonos are on different channels. Choose from only 1, 6 or 11 for the router to avoid overlaps. Also disable any 40MHz/'wide'/'300Mbps' channel mode for Wireless N operation in the 2.4GHz band.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 30th, 2010, 01:48 PM
Malcolm - Sonos Malcolm - Sonos is offline
Sonos Support Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 527
Default

How long does the light blink white for? Like Ratty mentioned, it's normal for a unit to blink white and then go out if you've turned off the LED, but it should blink white for about 30 seconds before it goes off.

If your unit only blinks for literally a couple seconds, then I'd recommend contacting Sonos Support directly - the unit might be hanging during the boot process. We're open Monday by live chat only, or you can call us Tuesday:
www.sonos.com/support/contact
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 31st, 2010, 07:33 AM
xqzme xqzme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
Default Still not working

Thanks for the feedback. My ZP80 is connected to the router. I've restarted the router first then the ZP80. Both of my other Sonos players are unplugged. I've tried resetting the router to channels 1, 6 and 11. I don't see any settings for "wide" or "300Mbps" Bandwidth setting is 20MHz. This router has both 5GHz and 2.4Ghz. I've also tried setting the router from N to G.

Both my Mac and my iPod Touch cannot find the player. I've reset the Touch and set it to find the player. When I hit Mute and Vol.Up on the ZP, the Touch screen changes to "Connecting", but it never does.

Any more thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 31st, 2010, 07:46 AM
ratty ratty is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 14,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xqzme View Post
My ZP80 is connected to the router. I've restarted the router first then the ZP80. Both of my other Sonos players are unplugged.
Did you unplug everything on the network before restarting the router? If not there's a chance you have a duplicate IP.

What happens if you wire a different ZP to the router?

Quote:
Originally Posted by xqzme View Post
Bandwidth setting is 20MHz.
That's fine. 20MHz is not 'wide''.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xqzme View Post
Both my Mac and my iPod Touch cannot find the player.
Is the Mac wireless?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 31st, 2010, 08:19 AM
xqzme xqzme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
Default Nothing still

I've turned off everything I can think of that's wireless.

The Mac is wireless and that has my Sonos Desktop installed. It can't find players either.

Tried another player and it still won't connect to the Touch or Mac.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 31st, 2010, 08:47 AM
ratty ratty is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 14,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xqzme View Post
I've turned off everything I can think of that's wireless.

The Mac is wireless and that has my Sonos Desktop installed. It can't find players either.

Tried another player and it still won't connect to the Touch or Mac.
So not a specific ZP problem. It's beginning to suggest that there could be a router issue. If the router has a UPnP setting, try toggling it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 31st, 2010, 08:56 AM
xqzme xqzme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
Default upnp

I disabled uPnP. No change. Here are what the router sees:
IP Address Host Name MAC Address
192.168.2.2 SonosZP 00:0e:58:14:35:40
192.168.2.3 iPod-touch 00:24:36:cf:40:82
192.168.2.4 macbook-2 00:1e:52:76:5a:3d
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 31st, 2010, 09:21 AM
ratty ratty is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 14,103
Default

What happens if you wire the Mac to the router - or to the ZP - instead of using it wirelessly?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 31st, 2010, 09:37 AM
xqzme xqzme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
Default

When I hardwire to the ZP my Desktop sees the player. I can search and start to play music, BUT no audio comes from the receiver/speakers. Everything appears to be working, but no sound. I don't see anything wrong with the receiver settings and it's always worked before.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:54 PM.