Go Back   Sonos Forums > Digital Music

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Feb 1st, 2010, 08:12 AM
Enekro Enekro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default FLAC compression and Sonos

Hi,

I'm currently ripping all my CDs to FLAC. I use DbPoweramp and I chose the best compression (level 8).
Unfortunately, when I play the tracks, Sonos plays the beginning but then stops and cuts the track into pieces. Which is particularly annoying.

I've been thinking that the reason is because the files are too large or complicated. When I play Mp3 tracks, I don't have the problem.

My Sonos is plugged to the house router and the tracks are stored on an external hard drive plugged to my laptop. The laptop is connected to the network by wifi. The wifi connection is good since I'm able to look movies on demand at a fairly good quality.

Then my questions are:
- Is there another explanation than file size or complexity to explain my problem?
- Would a lower compression level solve the problem? (storage is not an issue for me)
- I'm considering buying a NAS that would be plugged to the same router as the Sonos. Would this be a better solution than changing the compression level?

Thank you for your help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Feb 1st, 2010, 09:15 AM
Turbotulpe Turbotulpe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: BW, Germany
Posts: 112
Default

I'd ripped my CDs the same way as you, dbpoweramp, flac, level 8. The source for my Sonos is a QNAP TS109, a rather slow NAS. I do not Have any problems playing these flacs with my sonos, even if i am playing two differnt flacs on two different Zoneplayer with this NAS. What's your source? What connection to the router / Wireless, do you have a proper installed network, no double IPs?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Feb 1st, 2010, 09:42 AM
Enekro Enekro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default

I don't think I have a double IP.

The source is an external hard drive USB plugged to my laptop. Then my laptop is wireless connected to the network.

I understand that your NAS is wire connected to your network, which could be possible for me and could solve my problem
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Feb 1st, 2010, 10:38 AM
Turbotulpe Turbotulpe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: BW, Germany
Posts: 112
Default

Another possibility for problems could be wifi interferences. Did you scan for wireless traffic by your neighborhood, e.g. by means of netstumbler or inSSIDer?

My NAS is wired.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Feb 1st, 2010, 10:48 AM
neilball neilball is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Kelso, Scottish Borders
Posts: 231
Default

Can you temporarily hard wire your laptop to your router to see if wired ethernet suffers the same problem? Seems most likely to be wifi bandwidth (bearing in mind your movie downloads/streaming may use a much bigger buffer which hides the issue).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Feb 1st, 2010, 05:26 PM
Enekro Enekro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Hi,

Apparently, the answer is Neilball's. I'm currently listenning to my tracks in the most fluid way having hard wired my computer. Then I'll probably use Turboplupe solution: using a NAS always wired with all my music.

Thank you for your help
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:06 AM.