Go Back   Sonos Forums > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Nov 1st, 2009, 09:48 AM
LawrenceHare LawrenceHare is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 181
Default Windows 7 and Desktop Controller

We have just been through hell with infections on my wife's PC and after spending days trying to fix it I gave up and bought a new machine, it was 6 years old after all and was probably a right old mess in its stupid registry. I wish she would use a Mac...

Anyway, this come with Windows 7 and the Desktop Controller honks and won't work, the system telling us maybe the firewall is the problem.

Maybe not - who knows, but it probably is. I am so paranoid now, and so angry, I don't want to do anything that will upset the thing, but I guess all I need to do is go to the firewall and enable the ports that Sonos uses? But will this not enable the same ports for the other foul people who seem to enjoy destroying people's property?

Any suggestions?

Thanks - Lawrence
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Nov 1st, 2009, 10:19 AM
eye.surgeon eye.surgeon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Default

I just did a clean full install of Windows 7 and reinstalled the desktop controller with no issues. It's a very stable OS...I have a macbook also but I actually prefer Win7 to OS X. Try disabling your firewall.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Nov 1st, 2009, 10:48 AM
LawrenceHare LawrenceHare is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 181
Default

But I'd just as soon keep the firewall. Is it possible to enable the ports Sonos requires, but just for Sonos?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Nov 1st, 2009, 01:03 PM
buzz buzz is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 14,357
Default

LawrenceHare,

This FAQ will probably help.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Nov 10th, 2009, 09:39 AM
Treewizard Treewizard is offline
Digital Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 18
Default Win 7 Problems

I have had same problem with Win 7. I have had Sonos for 4 years through XP, Vista, Win 7, WIfi, Homeplug, Itouch. Never any problems. But since installed Win 7 Ultimate cannot connect. Using same firewall on my dual boot Vista partition no problems. using my wifes PC with same firewall and Win 7 Home Premium no problems. But whatever I do cannot get desktop controller to connect. Very frustrating. My friend has Ultimate version and different firewall. Same problem. Even when I diable all protection cannot connect. Help!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Nov 10th, 2009, 10:12 AM
skippythelizard skippythelizard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 137
Default

I've installed the desktop controller on 3 Windows 7 PCs in my network so far ... with no problems or issues.

One of the PCs is running the Ultimate 64-bit version.

Did you do an in-place upgrade from Vista? If so, have you tried uninstalling Sonos desktop and then re-installing it?

Are you running with any sort of virtual machine environment? That can cause problems with the desktop controller finding the zone players. Here's a link to a thread that might apply: http://forums.sonos.com/showthread.p...roller+connect

FWIW, I have MS Virtual PC running on the Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit that is using the Sonos Controller and it hasn't caused any conflicts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Nov 10th, 2009, 10:28 AM
Treewizard Treewizard is offline
Digital Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 18
Default Win 7 Problems

Hi have solved it and so simple too. I have always used mix of homeplugs and wifi. I have had router going direct into homeplug network and zone player wired into router. This has caused no problems and connections all fine until now. I changed config by removing the ethernet between the router and the zone player and the one between the router and homeplug. I then connected one from zone player to homeplug and one from router to zoneplayer. So router accesses homeplug network via zone player. As soon as I did that voila all works. Play to works on Win 7 too.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Nov 10th, 2009, 10:35 AM
ob2s ob2s is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eye.surgeon View Post
I just did a clean full install of Windows 7 ... It's a very stable OS...
Are you a long term beta tester ??
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Nov 17th, 2009, 01:15 PM
Ubertaffy Ubertaffy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 1,370
Default

I've generally upgraded to each ver of windows but I've generally waited until SP1 each time. in the few of you who have done this's opinion.. would you say Win7 pre-SP1 is more solid than Vista, XP, etc pre-SP1?
__________________
ZP80; ZP90; ZP100; ZP120 x 2 If only one of those 120s had been a 110 I would have had a straight instead of only a pair.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Nov 28th, 2009, 12:01 PM
JeffS JeffS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 9
Default Fixing Windows 7 Desktop Controller Blocking

I just spent a few minutes trying to figure out why Windows 7 wouldn't connect to my Zoneplayer. I'm running software version 2.8 due to the many stories of audio dropouts with version 3.0+. I just hope I don't get a S5 for Christmas, and I miss not having the iPod Touch app, but I can live with this.

Anyway, when first installing the software, it says that it will adjust Windows Firewall to allow access. It turns out that it only adjusted it for "Public" networks, and not for "Home/Private" networks. I disabled the firewall to get it all working. I then allowed Sonos access via Home/Private networks, re-enabled the firewall, and it's indexing away with no trouble. I probably didn't need to disable the firewall entirely, but it helped with troubleshooting.

I also discovered that W7's Action Center settings don't actually control features like the firewall- the Action Center settings just control *notification* about the firewall. That cost me a few minutes.

The indexing is done and it seems to be working well. In addition to the Windows 7 install, I swapped out my ReadNAS Duo for a Synology DS209+II. So far, so good. Love the Synology as it's more than 3x faster than the ReadyNAS.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:56 PM.