Go Back   Sonos Forums > Getting Started with Sonos

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old May 5th, 2009, 09:19 AM
buzz buzz is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 14,552
Default

Prey521,

1x will be fine in your application.

I have no experience with that particular control, but they seem OK on paper.

With any of these controls make sure that the control can fit in the wall box. I recommend using the largest plastic box that you can find. A simple ring is the easiest solution to work with. Or, cut the back out of a plastic box.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 5th, 2009, 09:23 AM
Prey521 Prey521 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buzz View Post
Prey521,

1x will be fine in your application.

I have no experience with that particular control, but they seem OK on paper.

With any of these controls make sure that the control can fit in the wall box. I recommend using the largest plastic box that you can find. A simple ring is the easiest solution to work with. Or, cut the back out of a plastic box.
Hi Buzz, thanks!

Our electricians are mounting 4 4 gang boxes (1 for each zone) and the controls will be mounted into each. I just have to make sure that the controls are set to 1x prior to installation.

Thanks again!

Quick question....what would happen if I ran 2 speakers into 1 control...how would that affect the impedance? Would I then have to change it to 2x/4x?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old May 5th, 2009, 09:39 AM
buzz buzz is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 14,552
Default

Prey521,

Yes, you will need to change the 'x'.

I always recommend using one control per area, never control two areas with one control. It is not the case that something will break, only that the result is awkward to operate. Mostly, this means one control per pair of speakers.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old May 5th, 2009, 09:41 AM
Prey521 Prey521 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buzz View Post
Prey521,

Yes, you will need to change the 'x'.

I always recommend using one control per area, never control two areas with one control. It is not the case that something will break, only that the result is awkward to operate. Mostly, this means one control per pair of speakers.
Gotcha...in our case, we will only be controlling 1 speaker per control. I assume that that shouldn't be a problem, but since you mentioned 1 pair, I wanted to bring it up.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old May 5th, 2009, 09:49 AM
buzz buzz is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 14,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prey521 View Post
Gotcha...in our case, we will only be controlling 1 speaker per control.
I assume that you are dealing with a mono source. SONOS does not provide an option to convert a stereo source into mono. If you are using a stereo source, take care that each area has access to both channels.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old May 5th, 2009, 09:58 AM
Prey521 Prey521 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buzz View Post
I assume that you are dealing with a mono source. SONOS does not provide an option to convert a stereo source into mono. If you are using a stereo source, take care that each area has access to both channels.
Good point Buzz. The speakers that will be in each zone will be near each other, so it shouldn't be a problem. We'll just be streaming background music for the most part and I doubt that the people would notice the difference much...though I probably would LOL
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:58 AM.