Go Back   Sonos Forums > Getting Started with Sonos

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jun 22nd, 2013, 01:00 PM
Huggybear Huggybear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Default Connecting play 5 to TV

Hi I have just set up a sonos play 5 with a bridge. The bridge and speaker is great but I want to connect the play 5 to my Panasonic Viera TV. I have tried to use a RCA cable with 3.5 jack plug but it does not work. I am not sure how easy it should be to make it work. But does anyone have any suggestions please. I have tried the audio out from the TV in fact I have tried all the sockets that fit a RCA connector.

Thanks for any advice.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Jun 25th, 2013, 05:54 AM
dodgysnail dodgysnail is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 10
Default

I haven't tried what your asking HB, but if you've selected Line In on the play 5, and your coming out of Audio Out on the Panasonic TV, and your still not hearing anything, I'd check to see if the RCAs on the Viera are actually audio out. On our Viera, the only Audio Out is a Digital Optical out that requires a Digital to Analog converter.

The Panasonic website has an article titled 'How to connect to an audio system' that covers what you're asking.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Jul 1st, 2013, 06:23 AM
Grandad Gadget Grandad Gadget is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 7
Default

I've done this with a stereo pair of Play:5s from a Panasonic Viera. You need to use the optical output into a digital to analogue convertor and connect this to the line-in on one of the Play:5s. You also need to mute the TV sound using the "Hotel" settings. On my set you enter this menu by holding the Vol + button on the side of the set and pressing the TV button on the remote 3 times. Don't change anything except the maximum volume setting which should be set to zero. (This is only necessary if you want to disable the volume control on the TV remote. If you are happy just turning the TV volume down then forget the Hotel setting changes)

Last edited by Grandad Gadget; Jul 1st, 2013 at 08:10 AM. Reason: Clarify use of TV settings
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Jul 1st, 2013, 06:39 AM
redhanded redhanded is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 38
Default

I don't have a Panasonic, but on my Sony there are TV settings regarding the headphone socket and these need to be set a particular way to get sound out of this (I assume the TV has a headphone socket as you refer to a 3.5 jack plug...?)

Last edited by redhanded; Jul 1st, 2013 at 06:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Jul 5th, 2013, 01:39 PM
kacee kacee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Default

I've also just done this with a Samsung TV. I set the TV to external speakers and the Sonos to Line-in. I also used a Digital to Analogue converter, using a Toslink from the TV and and RCA to 3.5m jack to the Sonos.

You can then set the Sonos to Auto with Line-in, this switches the Sonos to Line-in when you switch the TV on, whether you are listening to music or it is not being used.

Very impressed so far.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Dec 10th, 2013, 09:03 PM
Thoma Thoma is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Default TV to Play 5

I am trying to connect a Panasonic VT50 to my two play5's and sonos sub. Toslink out only.
I do not want a soundbar and feel I should not have to buy a connect. Several people have said that they have solved this problem with a DAC. This seems a good way to go. Can anyone recommend a unit that they have found to work? They seem to range from about 35$ to several thousand. For what I want, I would think that about a 100 should be doable but after all this would not want to just keep throwing money at it with no solution. I really need this to work.
Regards
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Dec 11th, 2013, 02:39 AM
ratty ratty is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 13,095
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thoma View Post
I am trying to connect a Panasonic VT50 to my two play5's and sonos sub. Toslink out only.
I do not want a soundbar and feel I should not have to buy a connect. Several people have said that they have solved this problem with a DAC. This seems a good way to go. Can anyone recommend a unit that they have found to work? They seem to range from about 35$ to several thousand. For what I want, I would think that about a 100 should be doable but after all this would not want to just keep throwing money at it with no solution. I really need this to work.
Any budget DAC would do the job, such as http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005PWPUW6

Make sure the TV is set to output PCM stereo.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Dec 11th, 2013, 06:26 AM
Thoma Thoma is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Default Many Thanks

Just ordered Orei DA 34x from Amazon
has good reviews; be here tomorrow
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Dec 11th, 2013, 07:42 AM
ratty ratty is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 13,095
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thoma View Post
Just ordered Orei DA 34x from Amazon
Okay. In that case ignore the comment about setting TV output to PCM. That DAC can cope with Dolby Digital.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Dec 11th, 2013, 08:29 AM
Thoma Thoma is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Default Thanks Again

Thank you
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:39 PM.